Each year, the Committee awards a $1000 scholarship to a resident of the Dehcho Region who is enrolled in a post-secondary program in Environmental Science, Land Use Planning, Geography, Natural Resource Management or a related field.

The Leo Norwegian Memorial Scholarship honors a Dehcho Elder who had great passion for the Land. 

Leo Norwegian was a respected Elder who grew up as a hunter and trapper at Rabbitskin, a traditional Dene camp on the Mackenzie River between Fort Simpson and Jean Marie River.  Family, language, and the land were very important to Leo.  He taught many people through his stories from his experiences.

Throughout his life, Leo was involved in organizations that focused on taking care of the land, preserving Dene language and culture, and working with youth.  He helped begin the Dehcho land claims process and was witness to the signing of the Tlicho/Dehcho Boundary Agreement on October 31, 2002 in Fort Providence.  He was dedicated, outspoken and influential.  He was like an encyclopedia of the Dehcho and its history. 

To apply, Download an Application

Previous scholarship recipients are:

2022 – Darren Hardisty
2019 – Thor Amundson
2018 – Co-recipients - Jennifer Gast and Devan Cli, Fort Simpson
2017 – Sheyenne Jumbo, Sambaa K’e
2016 – Shannon Cazon, Fort Simpson
2015 – Shannon Cazon, Fort Simpson
2013 – Co-recipients - Shannon Cazon, Fort Simpson and Jason Horesay, Wrigley
2012 – Jarrett Hardisty, Fort Simpson